Workplace Safety

Safety Policy Statement

The Board of School Trustees of School District No. 60 is concerned with the wellness of all employees and committed to providing a safe and healthy workplace.

To facilitate this, District Administration will maintain a comprehensive Occupational Health and Safety Program that is consistent with Regulations of the Worker’s Compensation Board of British Columbia.

Further, the District will provide the requisite training program to ensure that all supervisory personnel are aware of WorkSafeBC safety requirements.

Accordingly, all District Supervisory personnel shall ensure that all employees under their direction are properly trained and knowledgeable about their duties, and shall promote the strict observance of established procedures and safe work practices.

All employees are asked to observe established procedures and the directions of their supervisor(s), report unsafe conditions and perform their duties in a manner that will meet the objective to eliminate accidents and enjoy an injury-free workplace.

Staff H&S SharePoint

Our internal Staff Health and Safety SharePoint includes information and resources to ensure healthy and safe workplaces.

District Joint Health & Safety Committee Members

  • Angela Telford, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Sabrina Bourdon, Safety Supervisor
  • Caroline Drapeau, CUPE Union 4653 Representative
  • Jennie Copeland, CUPE Union 4653 President
  • Helen Gilbert, Board Chair
  • Norbert Kaspar, Administrative Officer Representative
  • Lyle Warbinek, PRNTA Representative
  • Michele Wiebe, BCTF President
  • Leah Reimer, Recording Secretary

The District Joint Health & Safety Committee meets 3 times per year to review each site’s Health & Safety information and concerns.

Each location has a site based Joint Health & Safety Committee that meets monthly. Please contact individual sites for committee member information.

Sabrina Bourdon, Safety Supervisor
Health & Safety Department
Office – (250) 263-6422
Mobile – (250) 263-1997