School District 60

10112-105 Avenue
Fort St. John, British Columbia
Canada V1J-4S4
Voice - 250 262-6000
Fax - 250 262-6048
After Hours Emergency - 250 785-6781

Tech Services - 250 785-4357

Digmore! – Digital Learning Commons

Digital media objects and resources for e-learning Featured Service Learn360 video service available to teachers and students in schools.

Registering Now – Wednesday July 11 until 1pm – YMCA Daycare & Before/After School care

The YMCA of Northern BC is at the School Board Office (10112 105 Ave) taking registrations for infant & toddler daycare / before/after school care until 1pm, Wednesday, July 11, 2018.

For more information or questions please see their website at

Mind over Metal Camp

North Peace Secondary School is hosting the CWB Welding Foundation Mind over Metal Camp from July 2nd to July 6th.
The CWB Welding Foundation Mind over Metal Camps are an initiative that began with a two week pilot camp in 2014.  This pilot camp was so successful that in 2015 the Foundation hosted 15 camps across Canada, 35 in 2016, and it is expected that this number will exceed 50 in 2018.
Targeted at youth ages 12-15, Mind over Metal camps are changing the perceptions of youth and their parents about welding and careers in welding. Hands on learning at these camps is building confidence and self-esteem and giving many youth a reason for continuing on to secondary and post-secondary education. Welding has captured their attention and is giving them a focus for their future.
Industry partnerships are growing as a result of these camps and the CWB Foundation invites industry to contact them for more information on this successful initiative.

Summer Reading!

CC0 from

We encourage you and your children to enjoy reading during the school summer break! Reading through the summer helps students avoid learning loss in the fall and provides an excellent activity throughout the long summer days!

Our Libraries & eResources Page has links to our grade 5-12 ebook library as well as links to our local community libraries that have great programs this summer and throughout the year!

If you are looking for other summer learning activities there are many great ideas available through a web search!


MAP – School District 60 Numeracy Initiative

School district staff have been working over the 2017-2018 school year to examine a sustainable numeracy initiative that will support teachers and students in School District 60. Based on feedback from teachers, principals, school and district assessments, we have developed a math assessment & practice tool to support teachers and students in numeracy instruction and learning. We are pleased to announce, with support of the Board of Education, SD60 will undertake a new Math Assessment & Practice (MAP) Initiative starting next year.

The establishment of the MAP initiative will span one to three years. We expect the MAP to become a sustainable classroom tool to support numeracy for years to come. The MAP will provide teachers with a quick numeracy assessment that demonstrates level of understanding and provides teachers feedback for their instructional practice. Inservice training and resources will support teachers with a friendly assessment tool that can be used frequently with students to support teaching and learning.

The MAP Initiative will:

  • Support teachers with their instructional practice
  • Expand teacher understanding and comfort with new numeracy curriculum
  • Provide an accessible tool for student practice
  • Provide teachers with “What next?” teaching strategies guided by assessment results
  • Include Inservice Training for teachers in Grades 4-10
  • Provide Collaborative opportunities around numeracy
  • Support schools with purchasing numeracy resources including manipulatives
  • Provide an excellent Number Sense teaching tool
  • Have future resources available at

We’d like to thank everyone, including local and provincial partners, that have been involved in this exciting new endeavour and we look forward to working with our schools and teachers. More details will be shared in the Fall of 2018.


Jarrod Bell – Director of Instruction

Charmaine Chretien – District Principal – Curriculum & Assessment


Board Office Summer Hours

The School Board Office summer hours are 8am-12pm and 12:30-3:30pm starting July 3rd.

The Board Office will be closed for the summer shutdown from July 23, 2018 to August 18, 2018. We will re-open on August 20, 2018.

Summer hours remain in effect until September 4th.

For information regarding school hours or registration please see your local school website. School information and website links are available on the Schools and Departments directory page or in the menus above.