Northern BC Distance Education

Northern BC Distance Education
10511 99 Avenue
Fort St John, BC V1J 1V6
Phone: (250)261-5660Phone: 800-663-9511
Fax: (250)785-1188
Web: http://www.nbcdes.com/
FB-f-Logo__blue_57

The Key Learning Centre houses three programs in the heart of the bustling community of Fort St. John, which is located in the beautiful Peace River Valley. We enroll a population of more than 1,000 students in our distributed learning program, which serves the school districts of South Peace, North Peace, Fort Nelson, Stikine, and the entire Yukon Territory. A Junior Alternate program is also housed in our building. Our school has a staffing compliment of 8 teachers and 3 support workers as well a principal, and 6 clerical staff.

The underlying philosophy of our school is a commitment to learning anywhere, any time, any pace. Distributed learning through a variety of mediums, most commonly online and paper-based courses, sets our school apart. We develop strong partnerships with the families we work with. We have an active Parent Advisory Committee and a supportive parent community. This year our school will be focusing on improving student achievement through the provision of more choice. Specific emphasis will be placed on increasing students’ reading, writing and numeracy skills. Some exciting dimensions of our school are the unique challenges of teaching and learning at a distance and the diversity of our student population.

Name Title Phone Email
Norbert Kaspar Principal 250-261-5680 nkaspar*
Darlene Modde Secretary  250-261-5661  dmodde*
Shelly Baker Secretary 250-261-5667 sbaker*
Noreen Caslick Secretary 250-261-5663 ncaslick*
Sandy Werle Secretary 250-261-5669 swerle*
Sandra Leclerc Financial Secretary  250-261-5676 sleclerc*
Linda Gibos Computer Support 250-261-5668 lgibos*
Sharlene Kantz Teacher 250-261-5673 skantz*
Christine Mann Teacher 250-261-5671 cmann*
Tom Oram Teacher 250-261-5676 toram*
Myla Sorensen Learning Assistance Teacher 250-261-5674 msorensen*
Craig Simmons Systems Analyst/Programmer 250-261-5665 csimmons*
Deb Wormley Early Childhood Educator dwormley*
Marie Young Advisor myoung*
* add @prn.bc.ca

School Trustees and their Liaison Schools